Uncategorized

Changing

Heidi has only been here for 4 days and I am already a changed person. Here is a small list of what has changed so far:

– I am asking for help! I asked my sister and mom to come and help me set up the nursery and help with baby things around the house. They have been fantastic and I couldn’t ask for a better mom or sister. They have truly been such a blessing in my life. If you recall I had still not set up a nursery (the furniture arrived the same day as Heidi!) and I still had not cut tags or opened items. So as you can imagine there was a lot to do! My mom has been staying at the house the past couple of nights which is fantastic. I love having her here to help. She has so much experience that she is my new library 🙂 I know she loves being around Heidi too, so that is a plus!

– I am asking for advice and asking questions about what is what. From breastfeeding to poop…it is all so foreign to me. Luckily I have so many great resources (family & friends) that are there when I need them! From late night texts saying I stink at parenthood to calls about screaming babies – they are there for me! If you recall an earlier post about how I was frustrated about advice and all of that…amazing how now it really all helps me to hear it! I think it was more that I hated hearing the advice because Heidi was not here yet and I didn’t want to listen to advice I possibly might not need.

– I am relaxed. Well, sort of, my body is sore from being so tense about whether or not she is breathing, eating. sleeping, etc. Hmm…I guess also sore from giving birth in general! I am relaxed though, she’s here – I can breath. No more worry that my body isn’t going to work right or that something will happen that I can’t see in time to fix. I know there are still so many things that can happen to a child outside the womb, but having her here really helps me.

– I care about poop and I change dirty diapers. That’s right me and poop. I had never changed a diaper until Heidi came along. John had not either – we’re getting better! She was pooping up a storm at the hospital and then stopped when we got home. She has had more wet diapers here which was a change. Friday was the last time she pooped until tonight! BG pooped twice! It was wonderful! I have been so worried (tensing my body) since Friday about her not pooping. My milk has come in (oh engorgement how I did not miss you) and I guess its a change that takes place and it is all perfectly normal. She had a small poopie one this early evening and then a nice smelly one tonight. My mom took a whiff and said, “oh it smells”. I could not smell it! Its true about your own child’s poop! Which is a relief because I have quite possibly the weakest stomach ever. So, John and I changed her diaper and then she started peeing! We could not stop laughing.

Amazing how one little 8 pound girl can already have such an effect on me. I can’t believe that its me not worrying and being upset about things not done. I guess I should not be too surprised though because look how much a 3 pound boy changed me last year….

5 thoughts on “Changing

  1. pictures please!!!! (not of the poop, but just of heidi!!) i alwasys but callyn's clean diaper under the old one before changing, then you just slip the dirty one right off and no messes!!!

    Like

  2. I wouldn't worry to much about the poop. Especially if you're breast feeding, it takes more calories from it to make a BM. If she is wet, then she's doing good. Sounds like you're in high spirits and you're surrounded by great help.
    Enjoy your little miracle. She is precious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

